NPFL : Top 5 Most Valuable Clubs In History

The Nigeria Premier Football League NPFL, is Nigeria’s top flight division, and is made up of 20 football clubs all competing amongst themselves in a home-and-away pattern.

The Nigeria Premier football league NPFL, is the highest level of club football in Nigeria football league system. And arguably the toughest league in Africa.

The NPFL is organized by the League management company (LMC). The League is competed by 20 teams all having the ability to win the competition. At the end of every season, three worst performing teams will be relegated to the Nigeria National League (NNL). Also, in the same way, three best performing teams in the NNL, will be promoted to the NPFL.

The Nigeria Premier Football League was created 51 years ago 1972. And in 2000s, it suffered like many other leagues, ranging from financial impact and dwindling of tunes. Since the creation of the Nigeria professional Football League a lot of teams have participated in it. Teams like Enyimba, Rangers, shooting stars, Remo Stars, and many more.

The League also have witnessed numerous increase in teams participation. But not all has been privilege enough to be the winner of the League.

List Of Top 5 Most Valuable  NPFL, Clubs 


Kano Pillars F.C is a Nigerian Professional football club based in Kano, North Western part of Nigeria. Kano Pillars currently plays the NPFL after being promoted from the lower division of Nigeria football, the Nigeria National League (NNL).

They play their home matches at the Sani Abacha Stadium. A stadium of 16,000 capacity. Kano pillars was founded in 1990 (33 years ago), which was the same year Professional Association Football League started in Nigeria.

Kano pillars was relegated to the Nigeria National League (NNL) during the 2021/2022 Nigeria Professional Football League, were they finished 19th on the league table.

Kano Pillars is one of the best teams in the NPFL
Kano Pillars

Also read: NPFL : Top 5 Local Clubs Currently Recruiting Grassroot Players

Kano pillars FC has since the inception of the Nigeria Premier Football League NPFL, participated and have won the title 4 times.

They first won it in the 2007 – 08 – season where defeated Heartland of Owerri in the finals to win the cup.

In the year 2011-12 season, they faced lots of though opponents, but that couldn’t stop them from scooping a second title. And on its way to victory,  it entertained and defeated Enugu Rangers in the final to clinch the title.

The next year being 2012/2013 season they also won it again making it two consecutive times in a row. When they defeated the Peoples Elephant, Enyimba of Aba at the finals. When all thought that would be the last for them, they defiled all odds to win it again in the 2014 season against Enyimba FC again.


Shooting Stars SC is a Nigerian football club based in Ibadan. They were one of the big heads in the Nigeria Premier League in 1972. Then they were called WNDC Ibadan (Western Nigeria Development Company). They were later called IICC (Industrial Investment and Credit Corporation) Shooting Stars of Ibadan.

Its name shooting stars was a suggestion of the teams founding members, Late Jide Johnson and Niyi Omowon, who believed that the players were “Stars” in their own right.

Shooting Stars is one of the club with the highest number of followers in Nigeria. They play their home matches at the Lekan Salani Stadium.

Shooting Stars is the first club to win the FA cup on club basis in Nigeria in 1971. They are one of the most decorated club sides in NPFL.

They have played and won many matches against top club sides in Africa.


Shooting Stars SC is a club in the Nigeria Premier Football League NPFL.
Shooting Stars during training

Shooting Stars S.C outstanding performance during the 1976 season of the Nigeria Professional Football League earned them the League title. It was a tough year for every team that participated the tournament. But shooting stars took home the cup and that was its first ever titles.

After that year it took Shooting Stars another 4 years to win the League again in 1980. Shooting Stars have gone on to win NPFL titles a record Five times, 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995 and 1998.


Heartland FC formally Iwuanyanwu Nationale from 1985 to 2006. Heartland FC is a Nigeria football club based in Owerri Imo state Nigeria.

They were founded in the year 1976 as the Spartans FC. They played their first match as a friendly against Avarat Yerevan of the USSR which they won. Their home matches are played at the Dan Anyiam Stadium, of 10,000 capacity. Their Local rivals are Enyimba FC of Aba and Enugu Rangers. Just like FC Barcelona is a arch rival of Real Madrid in the Spanish League.

Also read:Top Past And Present Football Academies In Nigeria And Their Locations

Heartland FC is an NPFL club based in Owerri, Imo State Capital.
Heartland FC players

In the year 1985 when the Spartans FC a government owned club as at that time changed their names, to Iwuanyanwu Nationale when it was sold to Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu. Chief Iwuanyanwu is a Nigerian politician and businessman, considered one of the richest Igbo men in his time.

Heartland FC of Owerri, recorded the most successful time in the history of their club since inception. In the Late 80’s, when they won four straight League title from 1987 to 1990. Then again in 1993 they won their last League title on till date. Though they have been to several finals and semi-finals.


Rangers International Football club, commonly referred to as Enugu Rangers. Is a Nigerian Professional Football, NPFL, team based in Enugu Sate, Nigeria. Enugu Rangers was founded in the year 1970. And they play their home games at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium. Rangers are one of the three oldest clubs in Nigeria, along side Bendel Insurance and Kano pillars.

They also kept a record as the only Nigerian club that has never been relegated from the Nigeria Premier League. Enugu Rangers greatest rivalry is Enyimba of Aba. When they meet it’s referred to as the “Oriental derby”.

Rangers International

Since the creation of Enugu Rangers, international. Enugu Rangers have been very good Team, and very hard nut to crack. A very hot thorn in the opponents flesh.
Since the inception of the Nigeria Professional Football League. Enugu Rangers is one of the clubs with the highest number of the League titles.

They have won the League a record of seven times. From 1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984 and in 2016.

Also read: Super Eagles : Top 10 Most Popular Players Of All Time And Their Career Achievements


Enyimba FC is the current NPFL champions
Enyimba FC

Enyimba is a Nigeria Football club based in Aba, Abia State of Nigeria. Simply known as Enyimba. Enyimba FC was founded in the year 1976 by Jerry Amachi Enyeazu. The then first Director for sports Imo State. When Imo State was newly created.

In the late 70’s when Enyimba joined the Nigerian Professional League, NPFL, it wasn’t an easy experience for them. Because a lot of more experienced teams are already in existence and as well doing great things.

In the 80’s, it wasn’t that easy for the Aba-based club. But then, they started experiencing fame in the 2000’s. At a time, supporters and other odler clubs, thought the club were using magic.

They won the title 3 consecutive times, from 2001 to 2003. In 2003 they won it again.
Enyimba FC won the Nigerian Professional Football League, for a good number of times. in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2007, 2010, 2015 and 2019, 2013.

And they are also the current NPFL champions of the year 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *