Osimhen : I Want To Win African Best Player

Victor Osimhen confirm interest in CAF Best Player Award

Nigeria forward, Victor Osimhen, has publicly confessed he wants to one day win the African Best Player Award NPFLUpdates reports.

Osimhen made the public declaration in a recent interview monitored by Daily Mail.

According to Osimhen, every African footballer will always dream the prize. And he’s confident he can win the covetous award.

The last Nigerian to win the award was Kanu Nwankwo, in 1999. He shrugged off Ghanian competitor Samuel Kuffour. Also, former Nigeria international, Emmanuel Amuneke was also a winner of the prize.

Osimhen Confesses CAF Best Player Interest:

“I am not going to lie, it would be my dream to be African Footballer of the Year,” Osimhen was quoted by Daily Mail.

Read also: Victor Boniface Selling Price Skyrockets

In 2015, Osimhen witnessed the CAF award ceremony, where Gabonese striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won the award. Then Osimhen, was awarde as the
CAF Youth Player Of The Year.

Reminiscing on his CAF awarding experience he said, “I was at the ceremony in 2015 when Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won the award. As an African, you dream of this prize and maybe I can win.”

Osimhen confirm interest in CAF Best Player Award
Osimhen before a match for Nigeria

The 24-year-old is optimistic of being on the right path towards winning the award. But according to him it’s not going to be an easy task.

“I think I still have a long way to go in achieving that dream. I am really working towards that direction and I think I’m on the right path. But as a man, it won’t be easy but I think having my own family (here) has a dream come true.

Read also: Lagos Stadium Owe N600m Electricity Bill

“I have a long way to go. So, football is the only thing on my mind. And I want to keep focusing and of course, a lot is expected of me. So, I’m here to deliver.”

Osimhen is the current Italian Serie A top scorer with 21 goals in 23 matches. He’s the third highest goalscorer in Europe, behind Erling Braut Haaland and Harry Kane.

For the CAF award, he will face stiff opposition from Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah; and Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane. Also, Paris St-Germain right-back, Achraf Hakimi is in contention having helped Morocco excell at the FIFA 2022 W’Cup in Qatar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *