Super Eagles: 4 Best Indigenous Coaches Of All Time

Stephen Okechukwu Keshi is the first coach to win Nigeria's first ever AFCON in two decades.

Super Eagles of Nigeria is the Nigeria National Football Team, representing the country in men’s football.

Super Eagles of Nigeria is governed by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

Also read: Super Eagles Stars Top French Ligue 1 Stats

In the history of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, they have won the title of African cup of nations, for the record of three times. In 1980, 1994 and 2013.

Super Eagles of Nigeria has produced numerous talented players, who later ended up as world class players.

Some even went as far as wining the UEFA Champions leagues, with their respective clubs.


No 4: Augustine Eguavoen – Eguavoen is a Nigerian football manager and former player.

Super Eagles Austin Eguavoen is former player and technical director of the NFF
Eguavoen in action for the Super Eagles

Eguavoen during his playing career, was a right wingback. He was so talented that he made his debut for the Super Eagles in 1987.

He was part of the team that qualified Nigeria for their first ever World cup in 1994. And won the African cup of nations the same year.

Eguavoen did not just contribute to Nigeria as a Football coach. He also contributed to the growth of the Nigeria premier football league.

Eguavoen as a player won the 1994 African cup of nation. As a coach his team won the African cup of nation Bronze medal in 2006.

He is also the coach of Enyimba international, when Enyimba FC won the federation cup in 2008/2009 season.

No 3: Christian Chukwu  –

Christian Okoro Chukwu is a Nigerian former football manager and player. He played as defender. He was the captain of the Super Eagles when they won their first ever African cup of nation.

Also read: Victor Osimhen Napoli Stay Very Important For Super Eagles – Peseiro

Christian Chukwu on duty for the Super Eagles


During his club playing career, Chukwu played for Enugu Rangers International and the Super Eagles of Nigeria. He was the first Nigeria captain to lift the African Nations cup trophy in 1980.Christian Okoro Chukwu was the coach of the Super Eagles from 2003 to 2005, where he led the Super Eagles to the semi-final of the 2004 African cup of nation.

No 2: Shuaibu Amodu – 

Shuaibu was a Nigeria football player and coach who played as a striker. Amodu was born in the year 18 April 1958 and died on 10 June 2016.

Shuaibu Amodu in action for Nigeria


During his playing career, he played for Dumez from 1976 to 1978. And Niger Tornadoes from 1978 to 1981.Niger Tornadoes is a Football club based in Minna, Nigeria. They currently play in the Nigeria professional football league (NPFL).

Shuaibu Amodu as a coach, coached Enyimba FC in 2002/2003 season, when Enyimba won the Nigeria premier football league trophy for the third time in a row.

He also coached BCC Lions of Benue State. Elkanami warriors of Maiduguri. And Shooting stars of Ibadan.

He managed the Nigeria National team and led them to bronze title in 2002. And in 2010.

No 1: Stephen Keshi 

Also read: Super Eagles And 1 Other CAF Nation That Failed To Improve On FIFA Latest Ranking

Stephen Okechukwu Keshi was a Nigeria football player and manager. Born on the 23 of January 1962.

Stephen Okechukwu Keshi with 2013 African cup of nation trophy


Stephen Keshi during his playing career, played as a defender. He earned 60 caps for the Nigeria National Team.He was part of the team that represented Nigeria in the 1994 FIFA World cup. And also part of the team that won the 1994 African cup of nation for Nigeria.

Stephen Keshi as a coach, became the coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria in 2011. He led Nigeria to qualify for the 2013 African cup of nation, which they won the gold medal.

In 2013 he led Nigeria to the confederation cup. The same year Nigeria secured qualification to the 2014 FIFA World cup, by defeating Ethiopia 4:1 on aggregate in the playoffs.

Keshi set a record in African football by being the first African coach to qualify two African nations (Nigeria and Togo) for the world cup finals in 2005 and 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *